All Reviews for PXS-14 - Beginners Lock Pick Set


Average Customer Review: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 based on 39 reviews

Write an online review and share your thoughts with others.

View Complete Details for PXS-14 - Beginners Lock Pick Set

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Great first set.
Reviewer: Yun~Han on 4/12/2017
Great value, well packaged and a speedy delivery.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Good starter set
Reviewer: Le K on 1/13/2017
This starter set is good for learning and it should last awhile depending on heavy use.

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Good first set
Reviewer: Michael on 12/31/2016
This set of picks is perfect for your first order! The flex wrench was just what the kit needed

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Great set
Reviewer: Greg on 12/26/2016
Very pleased, set is exactly what I needed, father was a locksmith. I had to retire his set this one fits the perfect pocket size for quick entry calls.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 PXS-14 review
Reviewer: Barry on 12/20/2016
I bought three of these for my children. I'm hoping they follow in my footsteps and we will see. The sets look very nice and the case is quality. Thanks for being there for us.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Great Set!
Reviewer: Mike on 12/16/2016
Great first set! Bought these after seeing an online review. I've been able to pick lots of locks with the picks in here. Everything is well made and comfortable to hold and work with.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Nice Handles and Fast Shipping
Reviewer: Nate on 12/13/2016
I bought this as a present for a someone new to locksport and haven't given it yet. Out of curiosity though, I opened it up. As others have said in the many online reviews these picks seem thick enough for a new person with heavy hands not to mess up and the handles feel comfortable. The shipping was fast and the price was fair. I can see why people prefer this set to cheaper sets from large online retailers. This is a fine set to start with.

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Had one break within the first few uses
Reviewer: Greg on 12/11/2016
Decent sent, but not all that strong. I had one of the tips bend and break while I was using it the very first time out.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Great beginners kit!
Reviewer: owlwoman mn on 12/8/2016
This item is a great beginners kit! It is being used every day by a novice and still holding it's own...various times of tool abuse and tool enchantment...great kit

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Impressive
Reviewer: Paul Huber on 9/27/2016
I too took the advice of youtuber Bosnian bill and looked into this site and found this set and was taken back by the quality for the price ! I bought some junk off of another site and it was about the same price as this and I'll tell anyone reading this that this is one of the best deals they have !! A must have !!!

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 More than you'd expect!
Reviewer: derek odom on 9/18/2016
I was looking at lockpicks from ebay (most of those are China junk) and a bunch of other places. YouTuber bosnianbill reviewed this set and I thought heck, why not? As other reviewers have said, the handle grips resist going on but I sort of liked that because now, they aren't coming off. The picks themselves are very durable and I've, so far, gotten into every door of my house, into all padlocks but one, and into my Ramcharger. I'm going to tackle that last padlock again, as I didn't try but for a minute or two. Once I learned the trick, I can bust into my Master No. 3 in a second or less--so bad haha. Anyhow, for $30, you aren't going to find much better than this if you are just getting into picking. Nice case, too, although as has also been mentioned, I kinda wish it had a place for the wrenches and, yes, a TOK wrench would be awesome but I scored a set in a drawing, so that was that. :D Good set, good quality, the right price.

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 This is a great kit.
Reviewer: Chris Reed on 5/4/2016
The pick set you are looking at is a great value. You will want a few other tools but this helps you find what you like. The grips are nice and not too hard to slide on if you push from the bottom. The only flaw is that some of my grips were split but still useable.

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Great set
Reviewer: Brett Pierce on 4/26/2016
This is a great set for the money. That being said I do have a few complaints about it. First the case does not have a place for the picks. There is a pocket for the tension wrenches but the picks just sit in the case. Second I think they should have included a top of the key way wrench (not a big deal since I bought a Peterson one when I bout this set) On the good side the picks them self are really nice, very well formed and no sharp edges. I love the handles (wild a little tricky to put on), they make the picks very easy to handle. Also the verity of the picks is great! I have all the picks I use on a regular basis. Over all this is a great set and it would make the perfect first set for beginners!

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 No instructions
Reviewer: Michael Sherrod on 3/19/2016
The kit is fine but no instructions were included so I do not know how to use them? Is there a guide I can use to teach me how to use the contents?

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 GREAT quality at a GREAT price!
Reviewer: Christopher Mastin on 3/16/2016
I was really impressed at the quality of these picks. I was not expecting very much quality for this price. They are very durable and comfortable as well. I have used these picks for hours picking various locks and I do not have any complaints.

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 good kit for the price point
Reviewer: joshua bailey on 3/10/2016
I bought this kit along with a Peterson kit as well. This is a good set for a beginner the picks need some finishing work with some sand paper to smooth them up some but hey at this price it's a labor of love. Overall it's a good everyday carry piece that wouldn't be bad to have in most instances. Only thing that would make it better is a few .015 hooks and top of the keyway tools

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 All you need.
Reviewer: Donald DeLorme on 3/8/2016
This set is more than enough to get you started. The only thing I would add is some top of the key way tension wrenches.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 PXS-14 - Beginners Lock Pick Set
Reviewer: Michael Kamens on 2/8/2016
Great pick set for a very reasonable price.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Picks. For locks.
Reviewer: KT on 12/20/2015
I'm a beginner. These seem to be good for me. Putting the grips on was a little tough. More tools than I need really. Most I haven't used. I also have the pagoda set but I'm not much on raking yet. I'm happy with what I bought and it's a fun hobby. Everything you need is in this (except a top of the keyway tension wrench maybe. If I were to go back and do it over I'd probably buy single picks and create my own set. Review is all over the place I know but they are good quality at a reasonable price. Perfect for a starter set and you can upgrade once you learn a bit about what you like and need.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Really got me hooked...
Reviewer: Stefan on 11/21/2015
I've been interested in lock picking as a hobby for a while. This set makes it affordable to get into and has this selections of tools give me something to grow into. IMO It's very good steel and the grips are tight on the picks so you get very good feed back.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Awsome kit for beginner.
Reviewer: Jeremy Adams on 7/12/2015
This it the first time I have ever tried to pick a lock with any kit. I had my first lock open within 20 seconds. I thought it was an accident so I tried my whole house and every lock at work with success. If it can make someone like me who has never picked a lock before become a lock picking fool.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Great Kit
Reviewer: Justice on 12/26/2014
I got the complete lock picking starter kit for Christmas. It is great so far (I've had for only 12 hours now and I love it)!! I opened the practice lock in about five minutes or less. I opened my backdoor deadbolt (Schlage) fairly easily. Needless to say, it's a great kit. I would definitely recommend you get a practice lock (cutaway) at the minimum as well. I've wanted one for 2 years and I finally got one! Merry Christmas!!!!

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Nice but really?
Reviewer: sardin3 on 11/19/2014
I just purchased this set as a gift for my boyfriend. I was going to give it to him unopened but luckily I did open it. The handles do not come on the picks, so i had to manually put each black grip on which was not the easiest task. Also, the inside of the case came damaged. And there is not a specific place to put the picks, they just have to sit inside. There is one slot which is just large enough to hold the tension tools. But other than the above, I am very excited to gift these to my boyfriend and see how they work. They are definitely a step up from his current set (a.k.a. a bobby pin and pen clip).

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Amazing
Reviewer: PJ on 10/8/2014
I bought this set as a beginners set for myself. I have no experience at all picking locks and I had all the locks in my house opened in a matter of minutes. This set is amazing, especially for beginners.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Great Starter Kit
Reviewer: Johnny on 8/11/2013
The PXS-14 is more than enough for a beginner. In a few minutes I was able to pick my home lock. This is a great lock picking set for anyone. Great quality.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Really Helpful
Reviewer: Grey Fox on 6/1/2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 A Perfect First Kit
Reviewer: Dan on 4/24/2013
Received my PXS-14 yesterday. Good quality, fair price, fast shipping. Plus the leather case is a higher quality than I expected. Should last for many years.

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Good Starter Set!!
Reviewer: John Gremard on 1/12/2013
Good Starter set, nice leather case.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Nice Lockpick Set
Reviewer: Dario on 8/17/2012
This lock pick set is great for a person starting out. I'm still new to the lock pick world and I was able to pick my own home's lock in under 20 mins. So to say that I'll be upgrading my locks at home :) I like the grip that the picks have as they make it more comfortable to hold the pick. All and all, I like this lock pick set and would recommend it to anyone looking for an affordable set and still have a good quality one as well.

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 A decent kit.
Reviewer: Thomas on 4/20/2012
A good little beginners set, it doesn't have all the pick types you'll eventually want, but it has everything that you'll need to get started. The grips are very comfortable, but are a little softer than I personally prefer, but they come seperate and don't necessarily need to be used. The case is good quality. The picks themselves are sturdy and work well and it's the cheapest set I've seen with this many picks. The only negative thing I have to say about this kit is that two of the four torque wrenches were identical, I don't know if it's the same in every kit, but I'd have prefered it if each wrench were different.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 EXCELLENT LOCK PICK SET
Reviewer: Joe on 4/6/2012
Excellent set to begin with. Will last a long tome. My daughter became proficient with my set and wanted her own. Got this set for her birthday. She was thrilled! With this set she is very good at padlocks, cabinet locks, doors and deadbolts. Sometimes she is faster than me at picking locks. Definitely recommend.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Excellent beginner set
Reviewer: Lock out on 3/7/2012
Since I was just starting in the locksmith field I needed a decent pick set but have (as we all do these days) and could not drop a lot on a set. After looking at several sites and reading reviews on several different sets I ordered the PXS-14 and when it arrived I was very pleased. I like the grips and the assortment of picks. I gave them a try and worked every time. For a beginner set you couldn't ask for more in quality or price.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Great Pick Set!
Reviewer: Beantown Benjamin on 3/5/2012
This was a great pick set right out of the box! Came will everything I needed to tackle any lock! See these picks in action here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sOS6wsEyKX0

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Nice picks and grips are good
Reviewer: C on 1/7/2012
I was starting out with paper clips as a beginner to open locks which is, as you may assume, difficult. These picks are much stronger and a good start for me. I do not know if I like having the grips but I can't get it off the one I tested it on. A good thing I suppose since I would like a nice real grip if I was using the grips. Regardless the picks themselves look good with no visible issues. The case also is good although (and I am being picky here) the case zipper could have been a litter smoother but I bet some wd40 would fix that up fine. I am a beginner on a budget and I say that these picks where a good buy.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 PXS-14
Reviewer: james crowder on 1/4/2012
As a newbie locksmith Thanks to Foley-Belsaw. I decided to buy this kit. The shipping was fast and the item was better than described. I had a pad-lock that I had been trying to pick with limited success until I got this kit. The variable picks and tension wrenches enabled me to pick the lock quickly. Thank You LockPickShop for having so many things with great prices.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 BEST STUFF
Reviewer: Duc Tran on 10/1/2011
Quality of the lockpicks is awesome. I have order quite a few things from here. The best thing about their stuff is "MADE IN USA" Feel proud when I use their product. It's good quality pick for a beginner. Definitely recommend for any beginner like myself.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 101% satisfied customer!!
Reviewer: Marcin Marek on 9/7/2011
Express shipment to Poland, Highest quality product! I truly recommend this company!

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Great product, fast shipping
Reviewer: Shirley D on 7/22/2011
Was rekeying my entire home when I found 2 deadbolts and a door knob without keys. I ordered this set (I had owned a pickset long time ago). It arrived really fast! Picked them all within 15 seconds each using my trusted favorite, the rake, then rekeyed the cylinders in a couple of minutes! Cheaper than buying a couple of locks to rekey!

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 What a bargain!
Reviewer: Joe Napolitano on 1/8/2010
I bought this lock pick set for school; I really like the way it "handles". I am a locksmith student just learning how to pick locks. I ordered it by phone and was originally prepared to buy a much more expensive set. The customer service rep told me "You're just learning, buy a good (inexpensive) set until you get the hang of it...later on you can buy a more expensive set if you need to. Save your money." I almost fell off my chair - they actually talked me OUT of spending money! Lockpickshop - you have a customer for LIFE. Thank you so much!