All Reviews for Jackknife Lock Pick Set - NEW!


Average Customer Review: 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 based on 16 reviews

Write an online review and share your thoughts with others.

View Complete Details for Jackknife Lock Pick Set - NEW!

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Great compact, (basic) all-in-one tool
Reviewer: Matt Skaggs on 2/23/2019
I've been extremely happy with this set. For simple locks (that aren't stuck), I usually don't need anything else, and it's so compact that it's very easy to carry with you in any situation. I've used it on many, many locks and haven't had any problems at all with it. The picks and tension wrench are high quality and haven't bent at all, and the picks still hold in place well when it's "closed," and the tension wrench has never once fallen out of it. I don't have any complaints at all. One word of warning: I ended up buying two of these because I thought I lost the first one. (And of course found it a few days after ordering a new one, so now I have both.) One of the two sets does NOT match the description. In place of the extractor pick, it has a short hook, and it does not have an extractor pick at all. However, for pin setting simple locks I personally prefer to use to a short hook rather than a standard hook, so I was happy with that. But you run the risk of getting a slightly different pick set than advertised.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Better than ever
Reviewer: Brandon Wallace on 1/5/2019
I use to have a Jackknife before and was pleased with it but this one steps it up. My old one broke/shattered after YEARS of banging around on my keychain with it's plastic body. This has been rectified with a metal body that I doubt will bend or break. My old one only had 4 picks if I recall and the inclusion of the rocker is now going to be mandatory for me going forward. Definitely recommend for anyone that wants small and portable but still very much a versatile set of picks.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Real good product
Reviewer: John Sperduto on 8/22/2018
This is a really good product has everything you need as compact .

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Great beginners/EDC kit
Reviewer: Dave on 8/24/2017
Very well made. The ability to swap or replace parts is great feature. In general it's a perfect EDC kit for a hobbyist such as myself...who doesn't need anything more than the basic tools. Well worth the money.

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Well made and very portable
Reviewer: BenL on 6/19/2017
This is a great little carry-around kit. The overall quality is good, but the steel the picks are made of is a little soft and bends easily (I prefer Peterson Government steel, so that's my gauge.) That being said, this is a great attempt at a portable, pocketable kit.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Really good Quality
Reviewer: Michael Crank on 3/9/2017
Got it in the mail today and I really like it. It's really made well and nice pocket size and blends in like a little pocket knife. I seen knockoff brands cheaper but I'm glad I made the right decision and got this one. 5 stars all the way and fast shipping.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jackknife pick set
Reviewer: Kevin on 12/6/2016
Excellent product! High quality! Wish I had this years ago! Love it!

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Excellent product but more for a semi experianced type.
Reviewer: jake wiebe on 5/17/2016
Really well made. Contains 6 of the more popular tools but would prefered a bogata instead of the key removal tool. Unfortuunately, you must be aware of ensuring the tension wrench is properly seated or else it will be lost. Ditto the Screw in bit, it may be best to have used a finer and denser thread pattern to lessen the chances of it popping out. Finally, since I am being extremely picky, these seem to be finer gauge picks than more beginner sets and I already broke one ham fistedly using it. These are really minor criticism with little fault of the actual product but rather little details a responsible tool owner would never have issue with, I however, am a noon.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Saw it on LockLab on You Tube
Reviewer: Jim Myer on 4/21/2016
Works good! I saw a guy lock himself out of his truck and I had it open in less than 2 minutes. It will rake, rock and SPP the padlocks I have.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Perfect tool for my emergency kit
Reviewer: William Lee on 3/2/2016
I saw the review of this tool on bosnianbill's youtube channel and I had to order it. The Jackknife Lock Pick Set is well made, I tried it out on a couple of my easier locks (master clones), the feel through the handle was good and I had no problem getting those locks open. I ordered a few spare parts for the Jackknife just in case, after all this is going in my emergency kit.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Exactly what I wanted/needed!!
Reviewer: Paul Y on 12/8/2015
New to the lock pick arts. Spent a few days in a formal training session and received a SouthOrd kit from the class, but I wanted something smaller. The Jackknife fit the bill. now I have tools with me everywhere I go. Working just as good as my kit with individual picks. Can't go wrong.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Love it!
Reviewer: josh veach on 8/24/2015
I'm still what you might call a beginner. I've been building a set and have probably successfully picked about 25 padlocks, and 5 door locks now and was carrying around a kit I had built. I just needed something to fill my timer after being disabled from the military and I've been able to pretty much pick everything I had been able to pick with a full carry set with this little guy. Very solid! only wish it came with a MBG-01 pagoda, a short pick and possibly a pick knife/slim jim for combo locks but amazing quality and like I said I can still pick everything with it. I could a twenty piece set and its so easy to carry. Nice Job!

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Works great!
Reviewer: Alex Marino on 10/15/2014
As long as you know what you're doing the jackknife picks work just great. I really like this set because it's awesome in an emergency or when I don't have a full pick set with me. I've opened all types of locks with this set. If you're new to the hobby I'd suggest getting a full size lock pick set like the SouthOrd MPXS-14 or C1510.

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Great for occasional use
Reviewer: Chris Horry on 7/18/2011
This set contains just about everything you need for occasional use, and is fantastic as an emergency item. It will open just about any US lock you will encounter. It's also excellent for a beginner's lockpicking set. It has a few problems, for one it could have used a half hook pick as well as the one that comes with it is not really suitable for most padlocks. The other issue with the picks is they're very flexible so bend quite easily (they bend back as well, and after extensive use they do not appear to have weakened). Also, the tension wrench is a little too skinny for many applications so keep an extra one handy.

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Good, but has a few problems.
Reviewer: John F. on 5/16/2010
When I first got this pick I was very excited and it impressed me a lot. I used it for a few days on and off picking various locks but found that the steel used in the picks is softer than others and it makes it easy to bend. This wouldnt be a major problem if when you return all the picks to their housing they would fit, which sadly you have to struggle with it to get them in. All in all this is a great portable set but this is not for heavy handed people or heavy use. Its an emergency set plain and simple. If you do buy it (which you should - it corners the market for portable emergency picks) buy extra replacement picks, at least one full set. The tension tool is OK at best and nothing to brag about, it seems to be better than the one found on the Dyno Kwik Pick and $50 pen set and overall is better than the $50 set and is a tie with the Kwik Pick.

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Best portable lockpicking tool !!!
Reviewer: Matt B on 12/16/2009
I bought this because I wanted an easily portable and accessible lockpick for conventional uses. I had never picked a lock, and had no prior experience in lockpicking before I got this tool. I was able to open my door lock in under 30 seconds for my first time! I have used it many times since, and I can still rely on it. It is small, and slick (looks like a small pocket knife on a keychain) and has opened many locks, without getting worn out. I would definitely recommend it to anyone learning how to lockpick, or needing a portable tool for personal use.